NASA and SpaceX Complete Certification of First Human-Rated Commercial Space System

by | Nov 15, 2020 | Crewed Space, Daily Space, Spacecraft, SpaceX | 0 comments

NASA and SpaceX Complete Certification of First Human-Rated Commercial Space System
IMAGE: A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket and Crew Dragon Resilience for NASA SpaceX’s Crew-1 mission are seen inside the SpaceX Hangar at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida on Nov. 9, 2020, before rollout to Launch Pad 39A. CREDIT: SpaceX

We are pleased to announce that SpaceX has received the first certification of a Human-Rated Commercial Space System, in time for this weekend’s Crew-1 launch to the International Space Station.

NASA Administrator Jim Bridenstine said: “I’m extremely proud to say we are returning regular human spaceflight launches to American soil on an American rocket and spacecraft. This certification milestone is an incredible achievement from NASA and SpaceX that highlights the progress we can make working together with commercial industry.

And, weather permitting, we will be bringing coverage of the Crew-1 launch to you live, starting Saturday, November 14, at 4:30 pm PST / 7:30 pm EST / 2430 UTC, on our Twitch channel, twitch.tv/cosmoquestx. Please join us for all the launch festivities! [Ed. Note: The launch stream time has been rescheduled for Sunday, November 15, 6:00 pm PST / 9:00 pm EST / 0200+1 UTC.]

More Information

NASA press release 

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Got Podcast?

A community podcast.

URL * RSS * iTunes

Astronomy Cast LogoSeason 15 starts Sept 4

URL * RSS * iTunes * YouTube

Daily Space Logolive: only on Twitch.tv
Mon-Thr, 1pm EDT / 10am PDT

URL * RSS * iTunes * YouTube

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news, show schedule, and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!