Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Problems using my Celestron Firstscope

Problems using my Celestron Firstscope

Hi everyone, I'm really new to this, so I suspect this is just something I'm doing wrong. I just got my Celestron Firstscope, and I've used it several times to look at the moon. But two nights ago, i used it to try to view Jupiter, since it was so close to the moon. According to the description of the scope, I should be able to view Jupiter, and see Saturn's rings. But even with the strongest lens in the box, Jupiter still appeared to be just a shiny dot. The picture on the back of the box, near the description, has a fairly large image of Jupiter. So am I doing something wrong? Or is the Celestron Firstscope not as good as it claims to be. I would appreciate any help.

Thanks!
    Æ

You will have a hard time seeing the rings of saturn right now. They are pretty close to edge on as seen from earth. I don't know alot about your scope, but I know with mine, on a good night, I can make out the larger cloud bands on jupiter. Is there a possiblity that you are not looking at jupiter?

Try checking out www.heavens-above.com if you haven't yet.

3. 2009-Sep-04, 06:39 PM

4. 2009-Sep-04, 06:43 PM

Saturn is hidden in the Sun's glare so observation isn't possible. Not to mention its rings are edge on.

The Firstscope should be able to see the cloud bands on Jupiter, however the included accessories may not be sufficient. The eyepieces are very low quality Huygens design and should be replaced with Plossls or Kellners. The high power eyepiece is a 4mm Huygens which I imagine would be painful to observe through. Eye relief decreases with focal length in most eyepiece designs and I'd recommend using barlows to increase magnification instead of shorter focal length eyepieces. There are some extremely affordable eyepieces and barlows at OWL Astronomy, a site I recently discovered. http://www.owlastronomy.com/superplossl.htm