Thread: Meade DS-10A??

Meade DS-10A??

I have bought a older Meade DS-10A Scope last month for $300. It came with a 32mm and a 6.4mm Meade 4000 eyepiecs. Also the original 25mm K eyepiece was included.
    Any tips on collimation of these old fast scopes? I am VERY new to astronomy. I have no collimation tools. Still trying to find my way around. I am having problems getting the 6.4mm eyepiece to focus. It seems to work best if I focus the 32mm and then pop in the 6.4. I can if look just right make out 2 bands on Jupiter with it.
    With the 6.4mm eyepieces Jupiter only stays in view for about 7 seconds. Thats with the RA motor on and working. The scope seems to be balanced and I have my polar adjustment set to 48 degrees for my latitude. And pointed as best as I can get to Polaris.
    Any tips on getting it better aligned?
    Also have a pair of Celestron fully multi coated 10x50 binos which I have founds lots with in the last few weeks.

Donny

North Idaho

For collimation, just google "newtonian collimation" or "telescope collimation." You'll easily come up with many good sites.

The reason you're having trouble getting the 6.4 mm eyepiece to focus is probably bad seeing. Seeing refers to the turbulence present at all times in the atmosphere. Sometimes it is good, other times the atmosphere is especially turbulent. As a quick check, how much are the stars near Jupiter twinkling? If they're rapidly flashing and/or changing color, you have bad seeing, and high power (magnification) will result in a blurry mess. Even on nights of average to good seeing, there will only be flashes of truly excellent seeing, when Jupiter or one of the other planets will seem to flash into focus for a second or two.

With more practice observing you'll get better at seeing detail. Try making some rudimentary sketches to improve, or simply looking at it for a long time.