Thread: Konus Konusmotor 500

Konus Konusmotor 500

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner in astronomy and I just bought a "Konus Konusmotor 500, 4.5" short tube equatorial reflector". Specs here: http://tinyurl.com/qzu6z

The only difference from the specs on that page is that the eyepieces I have are 20mm and 6mm.

What can I really see with it and from where do I start? Any hints/tips are appreciated. Also, is a barlow lens recommended?

Thanks.

Start with what you have, I would wait a little to buy any more eyepieces or a barlow. Take the time to learn to use the scope and then later decide what else you might need.

A great book to help start observing with a small scope is Turn Left at Orion.

Hardcover on Amazon

Previous Edition

aurora, thanks for the reply. That book looks interesting, I will order it. Any other tips?

I'd say that with your 6 mm eyepiece, a Barlow should be unnecessary. A "fast" socpe like yours with a low f-ratio isn't the obvious choice for planetary observing and the associated high magnifications anyway.

Maybe a 12 or 10 mm eyepiece would fill the gap between the two you have. You will see a lot before you've exhaustes your current equipment

Did the scope come with a red dot finder? If not, a red dot or a Telrad is a great thing to have. What sort of finder scope does it have?

Quote Originally Posted by aurora
    Did the scope come with a red dot finder? If not, a red dot or a Telrad is a great thing to have. What sort of finder scope does it have?
    According to the link, it does have a red dot finder.

Hello experts.