Thread: Please explain football to me.

Please explain football to me.

I just don't understand why the superbowl is a big deal. Could someone explain why? Also, exactly how is football played? I've seen videos explaining it, but I just don't get it. I'm more of an MMA fan. It makes sense; two men are fighting for money.

Please explain football to me.

Quote Originally Posted by cjackson View Post
    I just don't understand why the superbowl is a big deal. Could someone explain why? Also, exactly how is football played? I've seen videos explaining it, but I just don't get it.
    I'm not an expert nor am I a huge fan but I enjoyed today's game with a couple of friends, a little beer, and a lot of food. As for how it's played, if you've watched explanatory videos, it would probably be helpful to know what it is, specifically, that you still don't have a handle on rather than start from scratch.

There are various reasons why it's a big deal. People like to see their hometown or favorite team win...and winning it all even more. The game is also a social event in homes and sports bars all over the country. I'm sure MMA fans have their favorites too and for similar reasons.

I'm more of an MMA fan. It makes sense; two men are fighting for money.
    If you distill things to that point, then there's little difference between them...except for the size of the average paycheck. Professional football players get paid to score more goals than opposing teams.
    Brett's the name. Peters Creek is the place.
    ─────────────────────────────────────────────
    My moderation comments will appear in this color.
    To report a post (even this one) to the moderation team, click the reporting icon in the lower-left corner of the post:
    Rules For Posting To This Board ► ◄ Forum FAQs ► ◄ Conspiracy Theory Advice ► ◄ Alternate Theory Advice

Well, how about 106 men (and coaches) fighting for money? And loads of it?