Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: The exact difference between a soldier and a warrior

The exact difference between a soldier and a warrior

I'm a random dictionary browser, and one thing I notice about certain historical figures is the description of "soldier". It often means military leaders of various types.
    Of course the term "warrior" clicks in, too. What's the exact difference between the two? Many medieval kings were soldiers, but were they necessarily warriors?
    Of course, modern soldiers usually don't fight in person; even certain ancient soldiers aren't known as great warriors.

My opinon - a warrior fights on his own, and engages the enemy. A soldier works as a member of an organization, and may never encounter the enemy. I'm sure there is more detail to follow from the more erudite among us.

I was a soldier for a couple of years, and there was even a war on. But since my primary "weapon" was a typewriter, I certainly wasn't a warrior.
    Cum catapultae proscriptae erunt tum soli proscript catapultas habebunt.

It's possible to be a soldier without having fighting as primary task.
    It's possible to be a warrior without rules and leaders.

Being ignorant is not so much a shame, as being unwilling to learn. Benjamin Franklin
    Chase after the truth like all hell and you'll free yourself, even though you never touch its coat tails. Clarence Darrow
    A person who won't read has no advantage over one who can't read. Mark Twain

Inclusa:

The best answer I've ever heard was...

One on one warriors almost always to kill soldiers.

In groups, soldiers almost always kill warriors.

I believe this was established by Julius Ceasar during the Gaul Campaigns.
    Time wasted having fun is not time wasted - Lennon
    (John, not the other one.)

What Don said. Custer was a soldier. Crazy Horse was a warrior. Custer lost the battle, but the Indians lost the war.
    Cum catapultae proscriptae erunt tum soli proscript catapultas habebunt.