Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 2012 Debunking?

2012 Debunking?

I have a fellow that I have been talking to who is very concerned with the Mayan Calendar / 2012 doomsday stuff. He wants to know what evidence we have that nothing will happen on 2012. Galactic/Solar/Planetary alignments, gummint conspiracies, geological/magentic pole shift, etc...

Anyone got the Straight Dope on this? I'd appreciate it, and I know the fellow would too.

I'm no expert on this, and I can only sum up what I've read on the BABB here over the last few months.

In a nut shell the Mayan calender does not end in 2012. It only rolls over to the next 'millenium' or whatever the Mayan version is.
    The Mayan had a unique way of measuring time (days) that was no better or worse than the way we do, it was just different.
    As it happens one of the big changes comes in December 2012. Many doomsayers and 'Woowoos' just love to take this rollover and make something of it for a bit of publicity, (and cash) from the gulible public.

There are already lots of websites claiming 2012 as an 'end' to the world but just take a step back and look what happened when our calender had a big change in 1999-2000. Absolutely nothing!! Even the millenium bug fizzled out to a few minor incidents.
    In 1999 and 2000 there was on average one 'end of the world' prediction every week. But as you can see we're all still here carrying on as normal.

No civilization uses that calender anymore. Don't pay attention to it. In fact most people on BABB have two ways of looking at it. Firstly we are dreading all the people who will be jumpming on the 2012 end of the world bandwagon, and there will be lots.
    Secondly we will also quite enjoy laughing at them, (In a bizarre way it will be entertaining) especially in January 2013.

That's my take. Someone else may have the details on the how the Mayan calender actually works.