Thread: Protecting Terraforming Bacteria While They "Work"

Protecting Terraforming Bacteria While They "Work"

Hi All,

Firstly, my apologies if this is in the wrong forum.

Secondly, my apologies if this has been answered many times already and I failed to find it. When I searched the forums a lot of hits came up for "bacteria", and searching all of those threads became overwhelming task. If another member recalls a previous discussion and could point me in the correct direction, I would greatly appreciate it.

Background:

I was recently reviewing this thread:
    http://www.bautforum.com/space-exploration/101484-mars-suppression.html
    and the topic of terraforming bacteria was discussed. In my quick perusal, many posts were made about the use of bacteria for terraforming, yet no one discussed how this concept was actually to be accomplished.

I should point out that I am a biochemist, and as such, I have some background on how microorganisms behave. And yes I am aware that some Pseudomonas strains have shown resistance to particle radiation, and are capable of surviving (not to be confused with proliferating) in active pool-type reactors. And yes, I am aware that other species have fairly high resistance to UV radiation, etc, etc.

However, what is bothering me is a perceived misconception from what I have read from other threads with regards to the capabilities of the super strains that are expected to complete their terraforming tasks - releasing water, providing an initial atmosphere, and building a base biosphere, etc. In the sense of this terraforming, I am contemplating Mars or the Earth's moon, as I really don't know much about the physical characteristics of the different planets, and these two bodies seem to be the potential target of most of the discussion around terraforming.