PDA

View Full Version : Bad Medicine...Part 2

Pages : [1] 2 3

tuffel999
2003-Nov-21, 05:10 AM
So the thread Bad Medicine got locked in Bad Astronomy the book and the BA sugested the discussion be brought here. I wasn't in on the thread I missed it(but I was interested in the topic) but here is a new chance for people who are interested. I am not beskeptical as I work in research but I have some knowledge that may be helpful. So if anyone is interested post away........

Glom
2003-Nov-21, 01:10 PM
Well I don't know much about the topic. But I say that homeopathy does have some medicinal value. Yes. It is nothing but water and we all know water is very good for you when you're feeling under the weather.

captain swoop
2003-Nov-21, 01:39 PM
http://www.quackwatch.org/01QuackeryRelatedTopics/homeo.html
http://www.homeowatch.org/

Glom
2003-Nov-21, 01:45 PM
I have a question. Homepathic proponents claim that homeopathic remedies work because the work contains a "memory" of the chemical that was in it prior to dilution. But, why does that make it better than the chemical itself? If an echo of the drug is potent enough to do the trick, surely using the drug itself would be even better.

gethen
2003-Nov-21, 01:53 PM
I have a question. Homepathic proponents claim that homeopathic remedies work because the work contains a "memory" of the chemical that was in it prior to dilution. But, why does that make it better than the chemical itself? If an echo of the drug is potent enough to do the trick, surely using the drug itself would be even better.

Except that, as I understand it, there are other considerations:

-The drug may be poisonous in larger concentration.
-The more you can dilute the drug, the less the cost to the supplier.
-If you can convince people that the "memory" of the drug in the water is
enough to do the trick, you can also probably convince them that you can
send that "memory" through your computer, as has already been done.

Betenoire
2003-Nov-21, 02:29 PM