PDA

View Full Version : Sun's Gravitational pull turn off suddenly

Tiny
2004-Feb-24, 03:15 AM
What will happen when there is no gravitaional pull in our solar system?
:ph34r: This is not homework question :ph34r: LOL

devilmech
2004-Feb-24, 04:12 AM
Well, as long as there are objects of mass in our solar system, there will always be a gravitational pull. So, I'm not sure what you're asking here.

If, for some reason, gravity decided to take a vacation for a while, then a lot would happen. Planets, asteroids, comets, and other objects in motion orbiting the sun would fly off into space because there is no force keeping them in the solar system. Basically, the solar system would cease to exist

Tiny
2004-Feb-24, 04:21 AM
To tell you the truth, I was doing a research project about Gravitational Force in our solar system, so as a beginner, I only know that the GF keep the objects in our solar system that oribit the sun... So I need someone's opinion or advice about what will happen when there is no GF in our system?

devilmech
2004-Feb-24, 07:42 AM
Originally posted by Tiny@Feb 24 2004, 04:21 AM
I need someone's opinion or advice about what will happen when there is no GF in our system?
I already answered that one:

Planets, asteroids, comets, and other objects in motion orbiting the sun would fly off into space because there is no force keeping them in the solar system. Basically, the solar system would cease to exist

Faulkner
2004-Feb-24, 08:10 AM
If the Sun suddenly, mysteriously "disappeared", everything in orbit around it would begin to fling off in straight line trajectories one by one, starting with Mercury, Venus, Earth (8 minutes later), etc etc... I think it's been confirmed by now that gravity "travels" at the speed of light.

Josh
2004-Feb-24, 08:55 AM